Two of Tipperarys greatest ever hurlers, namely Babs Keating and John Doyle

In going through some old photos to day, I came across a classic—-a good quality picture of myself between two of Tipperarys greatest ever hurlers, namely Babs Keating and John Doyle. It brought back memories of some of the great games I saw when Babs and John were playing, be it in Semple Stadium,Thurles, Croke Park,Dublin or elsewhere. It even reminded me of watching my first big game in Thurles in May 1939, accompanied by my father and some cousins. Four years later, I cycled to a Munster final in Thurles on a very small bike and on bad roads. Thank the Lord last September, I was present in Croke Park to see one of the great hurling finals when Tipperary decisively defeated old rivals Kilkenny. Hopefully I will get this photo into the 2nd edition of Behold Aherlow.
Tipperary GAA

Tipperary GAA

Leave a Reply

