Muintir na Tire

Muintir na Tíre is a national voluntary organisation dedicated to promoting the process of community development. Its aims are to enhance the capacities of people in communities, rural and urban, to become involved in local social, economic, cultural and environmental development.

Michael was national president of Muintir Na Tire from 1980 to 1983 and from from 1986 to 1994. He was a major supporter of the organisation and contributed to numerous papers and policy documents on national rural development.

Muintir Na Tire Presidents

muintir na tire presidents

Canon John Hayes Founder: 1937-1957
Canon Maurice Morrissey 1957-1963
Very Rev. Ray Browne 1963-1967
Very Rev. Patrick Purcell 1967-1971
Con Lucey 1973-1976
Very Rev. John Stapleton 1976-1980
Michael J. Lynch 1980-1983 & 1986-1994
Lt. Col. Jim O’Brien 1983-1984
Sean Hegarty 1984-1986 & 2001-2004
Jim Quigley 1994-2001
Margaret O’Doherty 2004-2007

Tom Fitzgerald
Chief Administrative Officer 1947 onwards

Current President
Paddy Byrne