Galtee Battalion

People often ask how Galbally and district was already such a nationalistic area when the War of Independence began. My opinion is that it has to do with a branch of the IRB being there from the early 1900s. The IRB (Irish Republican Brotherhood) was formed in1858 by such men as James Stephens, Charles J.Kickham and John O Leary. Despite a failed Rising attempt in 1867, the spirit of the IRB stayed very much alive and it took a leading part in the 1916 Rising. The Galbally branch remained active and my father Paddy Lynch and a friend Mick Scanlon travelled to Dublin in Easter 1915 to meet Tom Clarke and Sean Mac Diarmada (later to become two of the seven signatories to the 1916 proclamation). The main advice was recruit more and train more. There is a picture of the Galtee Battalion training camp in my book.

Galtee Commemoration



Historical Events/People covered

Geraldine Wars
Old IRA Irish Republican Army
IRB Irish Republican  Brotherhood
Tom Clarke and Sean Mac Diarmada
1916 Proclamation
1916 Rising
The Galtee Battalion
War of Independence
Irish Civil War
The 4th Battalion, 3rd Tipperary Brigade
Dinny Lacey’s Flying Column
Ambush at Soloheadbeg
Black and Tans
Ambush at Lisnagaul
RIC/Black and Tans
Rescue of Sean Hogan at Knocklong
United Irish League in Aherlow
Charles Stuart Parnell
Gaelic Athletic Association
Mungret College
Maryboro Jail
Annals of Clonmacnoise
Earl of Desmond
Edmund Spenser
Sir Walter Raleigh
Sir William Herbert
Battle of Kinsale
Flight of the Earls
Foras Feasa
Muintir na Tire
Fenian poet J.J. Finnan (Myles the Slasher)
Barony of Clanwilliam
The Land League and the Plan of Campaign
Darby Ryan ,the ‘Bard of Ashgrove’
J.J. Ryan of Drumline
Irish-American Club of New York
Dalcassian O’Briens and the Norman Fitzgeralds
Oliver Cromwell
The Penal Laws
Catholic Religion in Ireland
Catholic Emancipation
Galbally Wool Industries
Council of Muintir na Tire
Kingswell and Stagdale
Attack on Ballylanders Barracks
Yorkshire Regiment from Clonbeg Barracks
Sean MacDiarmada
Eoin MacNeill, Chief of Staff
Dan Breen
Thurles Jail
Battle of Knocklong
Galbally Memorial
War of Independence Volunteers
C/O “A” Company, East Limerick Brigade
Sean Lynch of Galbally
James Scanlon, Ned O’Brien, Liam Fraher
Sean Hogan, J.J.O’Brien
Liam Lynch (North Cork)
Dinny Lacey (South Tipp)
Kilworth Camp
Spike Island
Oglaigh na hEireann (Old IRA)
Tipperary Guild of Muintir na Tire
Canon Hayes
Tipperary LEADER Group
Bansha Muintir
ESB Rural Electrification Department
Aherlow Muintir
Galbally Muintir
Galbally Community Council
The Pattern of St. Peakaun
Brian Boru, King of Munster
Treaty of Limerick
Mass Rock at Ballinacourtie
Ogham Alphabet
Grainne, Daughter of Cormac, King of Ireland
Aherlow Failte Society
Charles J. Kickham